The U.S. State of Rhode Island is separated into 5 Counties. Check out the Rhode Island county Map, all Counties list in addition to their County seats in alphabet order and also their population, areas and also the date of formation.

You are watching: How many counties in rhode island

About Rhode Island ar Map: The map mirroring the county boundary, every counties boundary, state capital and neighbouring states.

About Counties that Rhode Island

U.S State of Rhode Island is located in new England part of the unified States. After the civil war the state was no willing to join the Union. As soon as the invoice of rights was added in the constitution Rhode Island join in the Union together thirteenth state in the year 1790. Rhode Island is the smallest state by area in the united States and seventh the very least populous state. The state is called after the island. The state is bordered by Connecticut to the west, Massachusetts to the north and Atlantic s to the south. The resources city of Rhode Island is Providence and also it is the many populous city in Rhode Island. The climatic condition of the state is continental climate which is composed of with hot summers and cold winters. U.S state that Rhode Island is one the claims that has fewer counties in the state.

Counties the Rhode Island 5 in number. They are Bristol County, Kent County, Newport County, Providence County and also Washington County. Off every the Counties that Rhode Island the wealthiest county is Newport with $36,994 per capita income. Bristol is the 2nd highest earning county. Also though Rhode Island is split into counties yet counties perform to have actually county government. The duty of local government is given to municipalities because county federal government was denomination in the year 1842. There are 39 municipalities in the state the Rhode Island. Counties that Rhode Island further divided into municipalities. There are 39 cities and also towns in the state the Rhode Islands. Cities and towns that the state are split again right into villages. There space some powers vested top top cities and towns because that the administration purpose and also administrative body of city and town are exercise and carry out a most services to the citizen of the state.

See more: What Is The Largest Breed Of Horse S, Top 5 Largest Horse Breeds

The U.S. State of Rhode Island has 5 Counties. This is list of Rhode Island Counties and also County seat in alphabet order in addition to check their population, areas and the day of formation.

List that Counties in Rhode Island v County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Bristol CountyBristol49,87524 sq mi1747
2Kent CountyEast Greenwich166,158168 sq mi1750
3Newport CountyNewport82,888102 sq mi1703
4Providence CountyProvidence626,667409 sq mi1703
5Washington CountySouth Kingstown*126,979329 sq mi1729